Rt Hon Lord Young of Cookham CH

Sir George YoungSir George Young retired from the House of Commons at the 2015 election after 41 years as a Member of Parliament, first from 1974 to 1997 for Ealing Acton and then, when that constituency disappeared as a result of boundary changes, for North West Hampshire. He was appointed to the House of Lords in the subsequent dissolution honours list.

He served in the Coalition Government first as Leader of the House (2010-2012) and then as Chief Whip (2012-2014).

His earlier Ministerial career under Margaret Thatcher and John Major included spells at Health, Environment and Housing. He served as Financial Secretary to HM Treasury, 1994-1995 and as Secretary of State for Transport, 1995-1997. He was appointed a Privy Counsellor in the June 1993 Birthday Honours.

In September 2000, Sir George resigned from the Shadow Cabinet to allow his name to go forward as a candidate for Speaker. In the new Parliament following the General Election of 2001, he was elected Chairman of the Select Committee on Standards and Privileges, a post to which he was again returned following the 2005 Election.

  • Share
Print This Page Print This Page Back to Top